No longer backup on Google photos by default
Google turned off the feature of Backup. Earlier the Google’s photo backup platform would reflexively add your images, video in the backup. It also adds the files of the social media folder.
If you want to create your backups then you can turn it on from your end. But by default, it is off from Google’s end. Google highlighted this point that this change will not affect your previously backups. But for future backups, you need to take care. You can still go to your backup and access those folders without any glitch.
Google initiates this step for a reason that in this COVID-19 pandemic situation people are sharing more multi-media files and folders. This saves the backup and sync. Moreover, it saves internet resources also. You can change your setting anytime according to your needs. You have a full right to make alterations in your backup settings.