IPL : Indian Premier League


What is the full form of IPL?

IPL stands for Indian Premier League.

It is a Twenty20 cricket tournament introduced by the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI), in 2008. Its first season commenced on 18 April 2008. The winner of the first IPL was Rajasthan Royals.

IPL is not only for Indian cricketers. The format of IPL also allows the overseas players to participate in the tournament. Indian players and overseas players form teams that represent different cities of India such as Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, and Kolkata Knight Riders. Each team plays against each other twice so each team plays 14 matches before qualifying for the semifinal. On the basis of points earned and net run rate, four teams qualify for the semifinal.

Rules for IPL team composition

  • These should be at least 16 players in a team
  • These should be four overseas players in the playing XI squad
  • The under-19 player who has played First-class or Lists A cricket can play the IPL
  • No minimum quota for local players


AcronymFull Form
APJ Abdul KalamAvul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam
ASAPAs Soon As Possible
CFLCompact fluorescent lamp
COOChief Operating Officer
DSLRDigital single-lens reflex
DSPDeputy Superintendent of Police
FORFreight on Road
CBICentral bureau of Investigation
PCSProvincial Civil Service
SITSpecial Investigation Team
RDXResearch Department Explosive / Royal Demolition Explosive
VISAcharta visa, lit in Latin
SHOStation House Officer
SDMSub Divisional Magistrate
RSVPRepondez s'il vous plait
PVCPoly Vinyl Chloride
NCRNational Capital Region
CSTCentral Standard Time
PSUPublic Sector Undertaking
CCCarbon Copy
NPRNational Population Register
USPUnique Selling Proposition
UNDPUnited Nations Development Programme
IGSTIntegrated Goods and Service Tax
PCTPatent Cooperation Treaty
DCDirect Current